





PROCLAMATION



WHEREAS, Circa 1985, residents G.R. Romans, Pat Potts, Archie Collins, Scott Tubb along with others built the first fire station in the community of Dike; and

WHEREAS, Gerald Hazelwood, A.G. Sandifeer, Ricky Massey, Jay Sandifeer, Daniel Eppars, Joel Pace and Fire Chief Archie Collins became the first members of the Dike Volunteer Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, Donated by North Hopkins Volunteer Fire Department, an old fire truck became the department's first fire apparatus; and

WHEREAS, Initially, all calls were received by telephone which were replaced by beepers later while radios are currently used to communicate with dispatchers; and

WHEREAS, Dike Volunteer Fire Department later received a one-ton chassis cab purchased by Hopkins County; and

WHEREAS, The members fully equipped the chassis cab to operate as a brush truck for the community of Dike; and

WHEREAS, At present, the Dike Volunteer Fire Department has nine members supporting four fire apparatuses – Fire Chief A.G. Sandifeer, Assistant Chief Joel Pace, Jack Towers, Clint Rubb, Ralph Calhoun, Allen Nelson T.G. Sandifeer, Chad Jones and David Joslin; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hopkins County Commissioners Court urges all citizens to applaud the outstanding efforts of the Dike Volunteer Fire Department, to recognize the dedication in their perseverance to provide protection for each citizen and their property and, offer heartfelt appreciation for the servanthood of each one.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court at the regularly scheduled meeting on the <u>23rd</u> day of <u>December</u>, <u>2019</u>.

Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge

Mickey Barker Commissioner Pct 1

Wade Bartley, Commissioner, Pct. 3

Greg Anglin, Commissioner, Pct. 2

Joe Price, Commissioner, Pct. 4

Andy Endsley, Hopkins County Fire Chief